Not Your Place

I cannot stand the “it is not your place to say that” argument.

Some examples:

  • “Yeah I shouldn’t hit your mother, but it’s not your place to tell us how to run our marriage.”
  • “Yeah, I broke up with you in a shitty way, but it is not your place to tell me how to live my life.”
  • “It is not your place to tell people from other cultures that the murder of apostates is cruel.”
  • “It is not your place to critique how I raise my kids, they’re my kids.”

When someone makes a moral critique, you can say something like, “well actually they aren’t hurting people,” or “actually that issue has nothing to do with morality,” or “actually there is some other good they are maximizing,” but it’s never justified to say, “you have no right to make a moral evaluation.”

This entry was posted in Sam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

